Things I’m gaining while I’m losing!

Shirshasana

This isn’t me but this is what I did!!  Shirshasana (Photo credit: kellinahandbasket) 

Ok, no time for a long, well thought out post!

Since starting WW, I’ve lost 5 lbs!  Which could be mostly water weight, but feels good nonetheless.  I have been consistently going over my points per day, and using up almost all my “extra” points they give you a week.  I haven’t been starving, but I also haven’t been making the healthiest choices I could.  Sometimes I think the “points” thing makes it a little too easy to cheat.  Like, last night I shouldn’t have eaten half a frozen pizza from Trader Joe’s, but it fit within my points so that’s what I did!  This last week I didn’t really lose anything, which I’m ok with since I went to a Top Chef dinner (what?  I can’t tell you anything else about it!), ate out Indian  on Friday night and didn’t work out as much as I could.

But, this week I feel like I’ve gained something really important. I’ve gained back my hope, my motivation, and my pride. I’ve realized just how far I’ve come since starting my wellness journey 6 years ago!  I might weigh more now, but I’m so much freakin stronger than I was!  Case in point: I did 22 REAL push ups today.  I also have been ROCKING the Insanity workouts which are the hardest workouts I’ve ever done.  This has really strengthened my arms, core, shoulders and legs! I noticed when I did a yoga podcast yesterday and I did the whole plank/downdog/plank thing repeatedly with no problem.  Also, I did my first LEGIT yoga headstand! And held it for like, 20 seconds!  It was amazing.  I did another one yesterday and today just to prove I could, and because it’s a killer core builder.

I was so tired this morning I wanted to take the day off. But today’s my weigh in day for WW and I wanted to have a loss, so I decided to do the Jillian Michaels Banish Fat video.  I remember the first time I did this video, I almost died.  I was huffing and puffing and “phoning it in” for the whole second half.  Today, I picked it because it was an “easy” work out for me!  And, I added in some harder moves because I wanted to kill it.  And kill it I did.

I am super excited to be feeling strong and proud of my body again.  I think that’s the most important thing you gain during the weight loss process–your confidence and self respect.

I have 3 days to lose 1.6 lbs to win my Diet Bet! Can I do it?  I’ll let you know! Either way, I think I’ll do another one because it’s super motivational and keeps me on a schedule.

Gotta Go, Keep it moving!

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Living, weight loss

Leave a Reply

