Carrot Ginger Miso Soup with Tahini Swirl

IMG_0293

For some reason, when I’m working, by the time I get home I’m STARVING.  Like, light headed, hunger frenzy where I eat everything in sight before and while I cook dinner.  Even if I eat a snack in my car on the way home! And I eat a decent lunch and breakfast, so I’m not sure why, by the time I get home, I’m pretty much in a blind hunger rage.

So one of my New Year’s projects is to curb the hunger rage.  I decided to make a big batch of veggie soup every weekend (that I don’t have school) so I can eat a bowl while I cook dinner.  Soup is souper low in calories (and points!) and fills you up because it’s a large volume of liquid going into your belly. Plus, they are easy to make and very flavorful!

Friday I made a kale and cauliflower soup that would have been amahzing, but I over salted it!!  Ruined.  Sad.  I ate a bowl and it still tasted good ( I have a high salt tolerance) but I was thirsty for days so I threw the rest out.  One day I will remake it with a vengeance, and it will be uh-sogood.

Deb from Smitten Kitchen opened the year with a carrot soup recipe that sounded intriguing.  I decided to make a giant batch for the week and see if eating a bowl before dinner helped curb my cravings and over eating.  Smitten had two great carrot soup recipes, so I adapted my own combination of both! I think it’s best (for me) this way.  I don’t think I would want a week’s worth of soup that has curry (cumin) undertones so I used the Ginger-Miso soup recipe.  But I couldn’t pass up the tahini-lemon dollop because it just sounded so good!  I went with a little more ginger and a little less miso, but the recipe is pretty much the same.

The soup is sweet, spicy from the ginger, and the tahini-lemon swirl adds a nutty, umami note that makes this soup a must!

Carrot Ginger Miso Soup with Tahini Swirl

Adapted from these SmittenKitchen Recipes: Carrot Soup with tahini and crisped chick peas  and Carrot Soup with Miso and sesame

IMG_0292

Nutritional Information Per 1 cup serving with drizzle of tahini:

Calories: 95  Fat: 5g   Carbohydrate: 11g  Protein:  2  Points+: 2

Ingredients for the soup:

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 inch fresh ginger root, diced
  • 1 lb. carrots, diced
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp yellow miso, or to taste
  • 3 cloves garlic

Ingredients for the tahini drizzle:

  • 3 tbsp tahini
  • juice of 1 1/2 lemons, or to taste
  • water to thin

 

  1. Heat a large stock pot over medium heat and add sesame and olive oil.  Stir in onions and ginger, and let them cook over medium-low heat while you peel and dice the carrots.  Let them caramelize real nice!
  2. Add garlic and continue to cook for another few minutes, until the mix starts sticking and browning.
  3. Add carrots and raise heat to medium high.  Let them soften for a few minutes before adding the broth.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for another 15 minutes, or until carrots are nice and soft and fall apart when stabbed with a fork. DO NOT SALT anything until you have blended it all up and added the miso!
  4. Use food processor or immersion blender to puree soup until smooth.  Thin with water to desired consistency.  Add miso to taste and use blender to stir it in.
  5. Meanwhile, in a small bowl whisk together tahini and lemon juice, and add water until it’s a thin, creamy consistency.
  6. Serve soup in a bowl with a dollop or drizzle of the tahini!  Enjoy!

IMG_0291

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Living, Recipes, Vegetables, weight loss

Leave a Reply

