How do you find balance?

The past few weeks have been at best, stressful.  Long hours at work, working on my thesis and crazy long assignments for school!  Not to mention I’ve been having health problems again, I’m pretty sure its an ulcer so I have to go back to the doctor this week.

I’m exhausted all the time.  I have 4 days off a month which I spend cleaning, organizing, and working on homework if I have the energy.  If I don’t, I zone out on the couch watching TV for hours because sometimes my brain just needs to be off.  I’ve also been going out more, which results in me spending too much money, eating too much bad food and drinking which DOES NOT help the ulcer situation! And then the next day I’m hungover and worthless.  Then I get anxiety about how I’m wasting my day off and  I have so much stuff I need to be doing!

Which leads me to my question: How do you find balance?

Gymnast feet on beam.

Gymnast feet on beam. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It seems like there are a lot of healthy happy people out there who have even more going on than me.  Moms who work full time and still have time for yoga and jogging and cooking healthy delicious meals. Girls who work the same job as me, are in the same school program and have time to go out at night while still being skinny and beautiful. People like that.  How do they do that?  I feel drained from the moment I wake up until when I creep into bed at night.  I miss my regular workout routine but don’t know how to squeeze it in. And now I’m at the point where, if I do have time, I just don’t want to work out 😦  I need to find a way to fit everything I want in my life and prioritize.  If on my own, my priorities would be cooking healthy meals and exercising regularly.  With work and school though, my priorities have to be finishing my schoolwork and making it to work.  (I can’t even have a sick day which has been pretty miserable).  I know I shouldn’t complain and I should just find ways to alter my behavior.  But I really don’t see how, if I work from 8-6 every day, then come home and do 3 hours of homework, I can fit a workout and cooking healthy dinner in my life. I’m losing it! How do I fit it all in?

If anyone has any helpful resources, tips or words of advice I’d love to hear it.  How do you balance your life between things you have to do and things you want to do?

1 Comment

Filed under Healthy Living, weight loss

One response to “How do you find balance?

  1. mimi butters

    Gandhi said that if he’s extra busy… he must meditate for two hours instead of one. Getting up 2-3 hours before work is hard at first… but it’s so worth it. Take a run early! ❤ you.

Leave a Reply

