Homemade Hummus, Hurray!

hip hip hooray!

Ok guys.  Why have I been buying hummus all my life?  For some reason I thought it was something that was hard to get right.  I think I had a gross version that someone made once and thought that only factories and restaurants could produce delicious, tangy, healthy hummus.

I was so wrong! It’s so easy it’s a sin.  Is that a saying? Maybe.  Seriously, you just throw some stuff in a blender and it makes a magical, creamy, tangy, protein filled dip that is lower in fat and preservatives than the store bought kind.  And it’s so much cheaper!  Hummus costs like 5$ at the store for a tiny little tub.  Making your own batch probably costs like 2 dollars.  For all of these reasons, I think we should start a hummus revolution and make our own!

If you want to get crazy (you know you do), try adding cilantro and jalapeños, basil, sun dried tomato, even olives!  I’m just listing my favorite flavors of hummus from Trader Joe’s, but I bet home made versions would be even better.

Tahini is a paste made of ground roasted sesame seeds.  I used to buy this awesome kind at a natural foods store that was literally addicting.  I found this jar at Fresh and Easy for only 4$!  I think Trader Joes sells a smaller tub that is more expensive and not as strong.  I say, go to a health store or find this jarred kind. It’s buy the peanut butter, weird.

your ingredients

Homemade Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained
  • 2 Tbsp Tahini
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic (skip this if you’re worried about your breath)
  • drizzle (light drizzle!) of olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water or chicken broth

Put ingredients in blender.  Blend until smooth.  Top with smoked paprika for extra fancy points.  Let sit in fridge for 30 minutes, then serve with veggies, bread, crackers, chips, on a sandwich or eat it by the spoonful (just kidding but not really).   If you like a smoother/thicker consistency, add water slowly and adjust to your liking.  Hip Hip Hooray Hummus!

1 Comment

Filed under Healthy Living, Recipes, Sides, Vegetables

One response to “Homemade Hummus, Hurray!

  1. Pingback: How to Make Homemade Hummus « Homemaker Chic

Leave a Reply

