Skinny rules challenge day 5: eat your fiber!

Day 5 of my skinny rules challenge!

Today’s rule: eat 30-50 grams of fiber a day.

Légumes

Légumes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I thought this would be pretty easy if you were following other rules, such as eating whole grains and lots of vegetables.  So, I didn’t really try to hard on this one.  I was like “hey, there’s no way I’m not eating enough fiber with all that whole wheat and barley and stuff!”  I added up my totals on Spark People and saw I was well below my goal!  I realized I had forgotten to include raspberries, lettuce, a persian cucumber and some seaweed salad. I added an apple to see if I ate that what would happen.  That still only brought me to about 28 grams of fiber!  So I ate another handful of raspberries and that rounded me up to an even 30.  Whoa! I guess getting fiber is harder than I thought!

The foods that are high in fiber are whole grains, fruits, and vegetables.  Some of Bob Harper’s (and my) favorites are:

  • Strawberries (9 grams/1/2 cup!)

    English: Alaska wild berries from the Innoko N...

    English: Alaska wild berries from the Innoko National Wildlife Refuge (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • Apples (4 grams/ 1 medium)
  • Squash (4.5 grams/ 1 cup)
  • Spinach (7 grams/ 1 cup)
  • Zucchini (8 grams/ 1 cup)
  • Garbanzo beans (3.5 grams/ 1/4 cup)
  • Whole grain pasta (6 grams/ 2 oz. dry)

Legumes (beans, lentils, etc) also have a crazy amount of fiber!

The problem I think I will have with this is that an upcoming rule (oh no!) is to not eat carbs after lunch 😦 I’m very sad about that rule and I think I am going to struggle with it!  But also,  a lot of foods that are high in fiber are also high in carbs (I think), like fruit, beans, grains etc.  So, I guess you eat those in the morning and the roughage-y vegetables at night?  Sad jojo.

Today I did a really good job following all my rules!  I drank a ton of water, managed to get a glass in before every meal.  I didn’t even put any agave in my coffee and had unsweetened iced tea after work.  I had tons of protein, didn’t eat any refined grains, and worked in all my fiber!  My body is feeling better even though I’m actually sick.

Breakfast: Whole wheat toast, canadian bacon, 1/2 slice cheese, raspberries

Lunch: Whole wheat pita, turkey, home made hummus, lettuce, cucumber

Snack: Kashi whole grain crackers, kale yogurt dip, egg white salad

Dinner: Soup! (I know, it’s hot! but I have a cold)  I made a soup out of leftover chicken and barley, tomatoes, onions, frozen kale, and seaweed salad! SOO good and filling and super low cal.

After dinner: Apple and handful of raspberries.

image

My night: Soup, homework, water 

Tomorrow: Eat apples and berries every single day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Living, Skinny Rules Challenge, Uncategorized, weight loss

Leave a Reply

