Honeydew Banana Basil Smoothie

I remember my dad used to make these awesome honeydew mint smoothies.  Cool and refreshing, they are the perfect summer breakfast/drink/snack!  I don’t have any mint right now, but we got a sweet honeydew from our CSA last week that has been sitting around, feeling lonely and unappreciated.  Don’t worry, little honeydew!  Smoothie to the rescue!  This recipe turned out sweet and light, just like I remembered.  I highly recommend trying mint instead of basil, or if you’re feeling extra frisky, try both!  I added yogurt for protein and a banana to make it thicker.

Honeydew Banana Basil Smoothie

Time: 10 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients

  • 2 cups honeydew, chopped
  • 1/2 cup low fat, plain yogurt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 banana
  • 5 ice cubes
  • bunch of basil or mint leaves (I only used about 6 but I could’ve done with more)

Put ingredients in blender.  Blend away!  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

