Honey Cinnamon Hazelnut Butter

IMG_0455

You. Guys. Why on earth does everyone eat peanut butter?  Sure, it’s salty and crunchy and delicious.  But have you ever had HAZELNUT butter?  No? Well me either, until today when I made some.  And I won’t be going back to peanut butter for a long time.  Maybe ever!

You see, it all started when, once upon a time in a land far far away, my sister told me about this sweet hipster joint that “has really good toast”.  This is a thing people.  They literally serve toast.  And coffee.  And you can get some stuff on your toast and I’m sure it’s pretty good, but I couldn’t think of anything MORE L.A. and Portlandia Brunch Special all at once.  I vetoed the idea because, well I was disgustingly hungover and I wanted potatoes and grease, not toast!

But still, something she said intrigued me.  She said they made their own hazelnut butter and it was amazing with the toast!  I couldn’t get the idea of hazelnut butter out of my head.  This was literally weeks ago and I’ve been obsessing ever since.  I went to whole foods and all they had was chocolate hazelnut butter! I don’t want nutella, I want the pure stuff! I went to the farmer’s market and all they had was stupid almond butter for like 30$ a jar!  That’s not what I want!  So, I decided, since I just got a sweet food processor, that I should just make my own.  And it was so easy, I don’t know why I didn’t do it weeks ago!  I don’t know why anyone ever buys nut butters at all!  Ok, it might be cheaper to buy it in a jar than to buy your own fancy nuts and grind them up.  But so worth it!

I used about 3/4 lb. of raw hazelnuts, or 2 cups.  This cost about $7.50 at Whole Foods, and made about 1 cup of hazelnut butter.  Don’t laugh until you try it! Plus I bet that’s the price of 1 toast with a tiny schmear of the stuff at hipster brunch!!

Seriously this is so easy it barely needs a recipe.  But here goes!

IMG_0454

Honey Cinnamon Hazelnut Butter 

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb. raw hazelnuts
  • pinch of salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • drizzle of honey

Preheat the oven to 350.  Place the nuts on a baking sheet and toast for around 8-10 minutes, shaking half way through.  When you can smell their fragrant hazelnuttyness and their skins begin to crack, take them out! Place in food processor and turn it on.  You have to keep scraping down the sides at first, and it turns into a coarse meal like texture.

IMG_0451

Keep processing and scraping until it starts to stick together and look a little more like nut butter.  Add salt, honey and cinnamon if you want (or any other flavorings!) and keep processing until it is a gooey, creamy delight.

IMG_0450

Store in an airtight jar or container.  Enjoy on toast!

IMG_0458

2 Comments

Filed under desserts, Recipes, Sides

2 responses to “Honey Cinnamon Hazelnut Butter

  1. agnes galore

    yummmm totally making some this weekend

Leave a Reply

